Weegie Shorts

First Weegie Shorts Competition

The winner of the first ever Weegie Wednesday short story writing competition 'Weegie Shorts', judged by Angus Simpson, Robert Craw, and Amanda Wright, was announced during our 10th Anniversary Party on Wednesday 18th January 2017.

The prize winner was Brian Cook with his story 'The Swan'. Well done, Brian!

The prerecorded winning story was read over Glasgow's Hospital Broadcasting Service at 9pm on Wednesday evening.

Runners up were:

Vikki Gemmell with 'Only You'; Ron Grossett with 'Shelter'; Donal McLaughlin with 'Getting their Tonsil Out'; Moira McPartlin with 'The Experiment'; Maura McRobbie with 'Glorious Gothenburg'; Eva Moreda with 'War on Girls'; Alex Perry with 'George'; Hugh Reid with 'Simona, First Terran Ambassador'; Liz Small with 'From Glasgow to Bath'; Katie White with 'Internet Love'; David Young with 'The Seeds of Life'.

The runner up stories can be heard on Hospital Broadcasting Service during the 7pm Thursday show 'Showtunes Spectacular' on the following dates with the winner being read again on the last day:

Projected Broadcast Date




Feb 2

Vikki Gemmell

Only You

Maura Currie

Feb 9

Ron Grossett


Tony Currie

Feb 16

Donal McLaughlin

'N Gettin' Their Tonsils out


Feb 23

Moira McPartlin

The Experiment

Robert Craw

March 2

Maura McRobbie

Glorious Gothenburg

Peggy Mack

March 9

Eva Moreda

The War on Girls

Maura Currie

March 16

Alex Perry


John Cavanagh

March 23

Hugh Reid

Simona: First Terran Ambassador

Robert Craw & Peggy Mack

March 30

Liz Small

From Glasgow to Bath -the beginning

Jim Connell

April 6

Katie White

Internet Love

Angela Campbell

April 13

David Young

The Seeds of Life

Angela Campbell

April 20

Brian Cook

The Swan

John Cavanagh

My account

Weegie Wednesday's members can sign in to their account to update their profile.

Members: Sign in
Not a member? Join for free

On Twitter

Follow @WeegieWeds on Twitter